

Minutes of the 20th AGM of the Constructed Wetland Association

Harley House, Cheltenham, 10th October 2019

Present:

Geoff Sweaney Chair Wetland Engineering

Helen Nicholls Secretary Global Wetland Technology

Matt Simpson Committee member 35percent
Andy Freeman Committee member ARM

Gaby Dotro Committee member Cranfield University

John Williams University of Portsmouth

The Rivers Trust

Apologies for absence

Catherine McIlwraith

David Naismith Committee member Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust

Geoff Durno Reeds from Seeds

Welcome

Geoff Sweaney opened the meeting with a welcome.

Approval of minutes of last AGM

The minutes of the last AGM, Portsmouth 2018, were approved

Chairperson's Report

The Chairperson's report is attached. In summary, it covered the following topics:

- 2019 activity
- Resignations of Tristan Josh (committee member) and Geoff Durno (committee member and Treasurer) from the committee. Secondment of David Naismith of WWT onto the committee.
- Development of the CWA business plan
- Accreditation update and introductory offer for scheme
- New online training partnership in collaboration with Cranfield, SWS and NEES

Treasurer's Report

The Chair introduced the financial position for the year ending 2018.

Most of the daily financial administration of the CWA will be done by the Administrator and overseen by the Treasurer. Each year, the Treasurer will make an annual budget for the coming session.



Minutes of the 20th AGM of the Constructed Wetland Association

Harley House, Cheltenham, 10th October 2019

New CWA membership structure

The CWA is revising the membership structure as follows: Individual membership will be £20/year Student membership will be £10/year Other membership categories remain unchanged

Plans for CWA activity in 2020

Big projects include:

- A new partnership with Cranfield University for online training
- The 2020 conference will be held on 16th-17th of September
- A CWA symposium at the SWS Europe meeting in Wageningen, Netherlands on 25th-27th May 2020

Election of committee members and officers

Andy Freeman was voted onto the committee as Treasurer by unanimous vote.

The other existing officers were re-elected by unanimous vote.

Cat McIlwraith and John Williams were voted onto the committee by unanimous vote.

Any other business

The time commitments of 4 Skype meetings and 2 face-to-face meetings per year for committee members was agreed.

A plan to encourage accreditation and corporate membership for universities was agreed.

Next AGM

The next AGM will be held during the first day of the next conference, Wed 16th September 2020.